Honor

Proverbs 3:9 “Honor the LORD with your wealth and with the best part of everything you produce.”

I read this tonight in my devotions. Funny how we can see things that we have never seen before…. I’ve always heard this verse in reference to why you should give offerings to the church.

But, I got to thinking on this verse, and there is a second part to it. The best part of everything you produce. On a very base level, I produced children. If you think about it that way, God is calling us to honor Him, not only with money, but with everything we do, everything we create, really everything that we are.

I’ve never had much money. But I do have a lot of kids. And I truly have sought to honor God with the way I raise our kids. I’m not just talking about baby dedication. Anyone can stand up in front of a church and promise to do whatever churches ask them to do at those services. The real test is in real life. Can you really say that you honor God by the way you raise your kids? If He spoke to you about how you raise your kids, would you be afraid of what He would say? The truth is, we can put on a good show. We can even train our kids to act like every thing is ok at home. But God sees past that. He knows our actions. He knows our heart.

If you haven’t read Proverbs 3 recently, go ahead and look it up. Read the whole chapter slowly, letting God speak to you.

Because in all honesty, God doesn’t need my money. But He sure loves my 4 kids. And He sure loves your kids, too. What He wants from us is to honor Him with our lives, marriage, kids, and those we come in contact with. And it isn’t really magical to “honor” Him. It is just doing our very best through the power of His Holy Spirit. Praying over situations constantly. Loving unconditionally. Saying that we are sorry when we are wrong. Making sure that there are no “hidden parts” of our lives- things that we hope no one ever finds out about. Because honoring God means doing it for Him.

I’ll leave you with another verse from Proverbs 3 (Prov 3:33): The LORD curses the house of the wicked, but He blesses the home of the upright.

Good stuff. Great God!

Leave a Reply

