Little Mermaid complex as a mom

The story of the Little Mermaid has always been one of my faves. The Disney version came out when I was young, and growing up in Florida, I spent many a summers pretending I was a mermaid.

I took a facebook quiz the other day that advertised to find out what “Disney complex” I had. It was a little surprised that it said I had the Little Mermaid Complex.

What is it? Well, basically, just wanting to be where you are not.

Ouch.

That sums me up.

Not that I am ever totally unhappy where I am. It’s just that type A rearing its ugly head. This is great, but what’s next? Is there something better out there?

I remember when my kids were babies. They were amazing, but I missed sleep. I couldn’t wait until they were old enough to sleep through the night.

Then toddlers came. They are so much fun to play with! And boy, are they so cute! But I am exhausted, and can’t wait until I don’t have to chase them everywhere.

Then early school years came. So sweet to take them to school and watch them learn. But they need lots of support.

I blinked and my oldest will be starting high school next year. Yikes.

Is the grass greener in the next phase of life? Well, if you are raising your kids with love and support, the next phase will be fantastic. But so is the phase you are in now. And believe it or not, you will miss it when its over.

I’m glad I had 4 kids. Because by the time I had the 4th one, I realized that there is some truth to how fast time goes with kids. Do I still have the Little Mermaid Complex? Yeah, I do. But at least now I know I have it! I can work every day to savor the moments with these kids. Things become less stressful when I stop hoping for some future time and just enjoy the time I am in.

Leave a Reply

